## SELINSGROVE AREA SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD OF SCHOOL DIRECTORS MINUTES OF MEETING – DECEMBER 4, 2023

The Reorganization Meeting of the Selinsgrove Area School District's Board of Directors was held on Monday evening, December 4, 2023, following adjournment of the regular monthly meeting in the Multi-Purpose Room of the Selinsgrove Area Middle School, 359 Seals Avenue, Selinsgrove, PA 17870.

The meeting was called to order at 7:41 p.m. by the Superintendent, Dr. Frank R. Jankowski.

A roll call indicated a quorum with the following members present: Mr. Christopher A. Aikey, Mr. Andrew V. Paladino, Mr. Kenneth B. Teats, Jr., Dr. David M. Watto, and non-voting member, Dr. Frank R. Jankowski, Superintendent.

Dr. Jankowski asked for nominations for Temporary President. Motion by Paladino to elect Dr. Watto as Temporary President to administer the oath of office and conduct election of a President for the year 2024.

The motion was unanimously carried.

Dr. Watto read into the record the Certificates of Election from the Snyder County Board of Elections for Michael A. Bingaman, David W. Hess, Christopher J. Kenawell, Cory A. Naugle, and Eric L. Watkins. (copies of certificates to be attached and made a part of the official minutes)

Dr. Watto administered the oath of office to Michael A. Bingaman, David W. Hess, Christopher J. Kenawell, Cory A. Naugle, and Eric L. Watkins as required by Section 321 of the Pennsylvania School Code.

Dr. Watto asked for nominations for President to serve a one (1) year term. Motion by Paladino and seconded by Kenawell to reelect Mr. Hess. Hearing no further nominations, nominations for President were closed.

The motion was unanimously carried.

Mr. David W. Hess will serve as President for a one (1) year term.

Mr. Hess asked for nominations for Vice President to serve for a one (1) year term. Motion by Teats to reelect Mr. Paladino. Hearing no further nominations, nominations for Vice President were closed.

The motion was unanimously carried.

Mr. Andrew V. Paladino will serve as Vice President for a one (1) year term.

Discussion was held regarding the list of proposed meeting dates. Dr. Jankowski noted that meetings are typically held the second Monday of each month, with several exceptions which he reviewed.

Motion by Aikey and seconded by Watto to approve proposed meeting dates, time and place for monthly meetings, as presented. (a copy of the proposed dates to be attached and made a part of the official minutes)

The motion was unanimously carried.

Motion by Aikey and seconded by Paladino to approve proposed rules for conducting meetings. (a copy of the rules to be attached and made a part of the official minutes)

The motion was unanimously carried.

Mr. Hess requested that newly elected Board members take a look at the list of committees and reach out to him with any requests regarding committee assignments. He explained that Board members currently serving on specific committees wishing to remain on that committee will take precedence. Dr. Jankowski noted that Board members may attend any and all meetings that they wish to attend, even if they are not assigned to that committee, adding that committee members have a leadership role.

Motion by Teats and seconded by Paladino to give direction to the President, prior to the January 2024 Board meeting, concerning committee organizational pattern for 2024.

The motion was unanimously carried.

Motion by Watto and seconded by Paladino to designate The Daily Item as a newspaper of general circulation to be utilized by the District as defined in Section 106 of the Pennsylvania School Code.

On roll call vote: 8 yes, 1 no (Teats), 0 absent

Discussion was held regarding the appointment of a representative to serve as the district's PSBA liaison for one year.

Motion by Watto and seconded by Naugle to appoint Mr. Bingaman as PSBA Liaison to the Pennsylvania School Boards Association to serve through December 2024.

The motion was unanimously carried.

Motion by Watto and seconded by Kenawell to reappoint Mr. Teats as a representative to the SUN Area Technical Institute Joint Operating Committee for a three (3) year term, December 2023 through December 2026.

The motion was unanimously carried.

Motion by Hess and seconded by Teats to appoint Mr. Naugle as an alternate representative to the SUN Area Technical Institute JOC for the same three (3) year term.

The motion was unanimously carried.

Motion by Watto and seconded by Paladino to approve David Hess, President; Christopher Aikey, Secretary; and Kenneth B. Teats, Jr., Treasurer, as the district's approved bank signers for Fulton Bank for the following accounts: General Fund checking; Debt Service Fund checking; Capital Reserve Fund checking; Athletic Fund checking; Athletic Facility Donations checking; Payroll checking; Food & Nutrition checking; Capital Projects checking, and General Fund Money Market.

Motion carried by unanimous voice vote.

## Additional Items:

Dr. Jankowski explained that one of his goals is to be a well-functioning team that works together to meet the needs of all students, staff, and district stakeholders. He noted that the next Board meeting is scheduled for January 16<sup>th</sup>, and prior to that meeting Board members should be on the lookout for communications from him regarding professional development opportunities, orientations, and committee meetings scheduled for early January.

Mr. Hess welcomed the newly elected members to the Board.

## Adjournment:

With no further business before the Board, the meeting was adjourned at 7:58 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Claudia A. Beaver Recording Secretary

cab/romin2023-12-04