SELINSGROVE AREA SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD OF SCHOOL DIRECTORS

NOTICE

The regular monthly meeting of the Selinsgrove Area School District's Board of Directors will be held on Monday evening, September 9, 2024, at 7:00 p.m. in the Multi-Purpose Room of the Selinsgrove Area Middle School, 359 Seals Avenue, Selinsgrove, PA 17870.

Christopher A. Aikey School Board Secretary

AGENDA

- I. Call to Order
- II. First Order of Business
 - A. Pledge to the Flag
 - B. Roll Call

Christopher A. Aikey
Michael A. Bingaman
David W. Hess
Christopher J. Kenawell
Cory A. Naugle
Andrew V. Paladino
Kenneth B. Teats, Jr.
Eric L. Watkins
David M. Watto
Dr. Frank R. Jankowski

- C. Consent Agenda
 - 1) Approval of Minutes
 - 2) Acceptance of General Fund Reports
 - 3) Acceptance of Food & Nutrition Reports
 - 4) Acceptance of Monthly Reports
 - 5) Approval of Bills for Payment
- D. Announcements
 - 1) Future Meetings Tuesday, October 15, 2024
 - 2) Additions/Corrections to the Agenda
 - 3) Other
- E. Opportunity for Public Comment
- F. Board Discussion
- G. Reports
 - 1) Administrator
 - a. Superintendent Dr. Frank Jankowski
 - b. Business Manager Michael Sokoloski
 - c. Other Administrative Reports -

2) Committee/Representatives

a. Budget and Finance -

Andy Paladino, Chair; Mike Bingaman, Chris Aikey

b. Buildings and Grounds - Meeting held on 9/4/24

Ken Teats, Chair; Cory Naugle, Eric Watkins

- The Board should consider the recommendation of the committee to replace the boiler located at the Jackson-Penn building at a cost not to exceed \$82,798 from Johnson Controls, Inc. under Costar Contract #008-E22-975 using Capital Reserve Funds.
- c. Policy and Education -

Dave Hess, Chair; Ken Teats, Dave Watto

d. Extracurricular -

Dave Watto, Chair; Eric Watkins, Cory Naugle

e. Personnel/Meet and Discuss -

Andy Paladino, Chair; Chris Aikey, Dave Watto

- 1) The Board should consider approving the following personnel matters:
 - a. Staff Resignations:
 - 1) Paige Ulrich as a Learning Support Paraprofessional at the High School, effective August 20, 2024
 - 2) Malarie Warren as a Cook at the Intermediate School, effective August 30, 2024
 - 3) Nathan Fisher as a School Police Officer, effective August 20, 2024
 - 4) Linda Herrold as a Learning Support Paraprofessional at the Middle School, effective December 31, 2024, due to retirement
 - b. Staff Transfers:
 - 1) Lori Kenney as a Reading Intervention Tutor at Selinsgrove Elementary to a 1:1 Paraprofessional at the Selinsgrove Elementary, effective retroactive to the start of the 2024-2025 school year
 - 2) Steve Shambach from Main Office Secretary at the Middle School, to Administrative Assistant to the Middle School Principal, effective September 9, 2024
 - c. Staff Elections:
 - 1) 2024-2025 Teacher Mentor Katie Deppen
 - Volunteer JH Assistant Football Coach Eric Hackenberg (pending receipt of required paperwork) (without salary, benefits, or expectation of any other compensation)

3) 2024-2025 District Volunteers – Kelsey Beaver, Melissa Brown, Lindsey Corbin, Melissa Glass, Erin Graybill, Kara Herb, Denise Hubbert, Wendy Hummel, Shari Mangels, Amanda Miller, Adam Mowery, Kim Porter, Nicole Ressler, and Katie Shingara (without salary, benefits, or expectation of any other compensation)

d. Leave of Absence:

1) Employee #000-00-2684 for a childbearing leave of absence, tentatively effective November 14, 2024, through March 3, 2025

e. Substitutes:

- 1) <u>Day-to-Day Predictable Substitute Teachers</u> (per building or based upon operational needs) Dana Brandt (IS), and Amy Ward (HS), effective during the 2024-2025 school year, retroactive to August 21, 2024
- 2) <u>Teachers</u> Andria Mullan and Daniel Smith (pending receipt of required paperwork)
- 3) <u>Guest Teachers</u> Sarah Erdman and Isabela Salazar (pending receipt of required paperwork)
- 4) <u>Education Major</u> Allie Keister (pending receipt of required paperwork)

f. Other Matters:

1) The Board should consider entering into Professional Contracts with the following individuals for successfully completing three (3) years of teaching, effective August 23, 2024: Emily Brion, Michael Ferriero, Erica Lauver, Darby Orris, Anne Parise, Madison Rice, Lindsay Schaff, and Evonne Workman.

f. Transportation –

Mike Bingaman, Chair; Chris Kenawell, Cory Naugle

- The Board should consider the recommendation of the Transportation Coordinator to approve fleet lists, drivers, emergency care facilities list, and a list of occupational health care facilities for random drug and alcohol testing for Rohrer Bus Service, effective during the 2024-2025 school year.
- 2) The Board should consider the recommendation of the Transportation Coordinator to approve Susan Ritter as an additional driver for Rohrer Bus Service, and Carol Moore as a driver for Weikel Busing, effective during the 2024-2025 school year.
- g. <u>Technology</u> Eric Watkins, Chair; Ken Teats, Chris Kenawell
- h. <u>SUN Area Technical Institute Joint Operating Committee</u> Ken Teats, Representative; Cory Naugle, Alternate
- i. <u>CSIU Board of Directors</u> Dave Hess, Representative
- j. <u>PSBA</u> Mike Bingaman, Liaison

III. Action Items

A. New Business

<u>Item 1</u> <u>Requests for Residence Rights to Free School Privileges</u>

The Board should consider approving four (4) requests for residence rights to free school privileges.

<u>Item 2</u> <u>2024-2025 ATSI School Plan – Selinsgrove Area High School</u>

The Board should consider the request of the Assistant Superintendent to approve the 2024-2025 ATSI School Plan for the High School.

IV. Board Discussion

V. Adjournment

cab/agenda/9-9-24