SELINSGROVE AREA SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD OF SCHOOL DIRECTORS MINUTES OF MEETING – DECEMBER 4, 2024

The Reorganization Meeting of the Selinsgrove Area School District's Board of Directors was held on Wednesday evening, December 4, 2024, following adjournment of the regular monthly meeting in the Multi-Purpose Room of the Selinsgrove Area Middle School, 359 Seals Avenue, Selinsgrove, PA 17870.

The meeting was called to order at 7:16 p.m. by the President, Mr. David W. Hess.

A roll call indicated a quorum with the following members present: Mr. Christopher A. Aikey, Mr. Michael A. Bingaman, Mr. David W. Hess, Mr. Chris J. Kenawell, Mr. Cory A. Naugle, Mr. Andrew V. Paladino, Mr. Kenneth B. Teats, Jr., Dr. David M. Watto, and non-voting member, Dr. Frank R. Jankowski, Superintendent. Mr. Eric L. Watkins, Board Member, was absent.

Motion by Hess to elect Dr. Watto as Temporary President to conduct election of a President for the year 2025.

Motion carried by unanimous voice vote.

Dr. Watto asked for nominations for President to serve for a one (1) year term. Motion by Watto and seconded by Paladino to reelect Mr. Hess. Motion by Teats to elect Dr. Watto. Dr. Watto declined the nomination. Hearing no further nominations, nominations for President were closed.

On roll call vote: 7 yes, 1 no (Teats), 1 absent

Mr. David W. Hess will serve as President for a one (1) year term.

Mr. Hess asked for nominations for Vice-President to serve for a one (1) year term. Motion by Teats and seconded by Hess to reelect Mr. Paladino. Hearing no further nominations, nominations for Vice President were closed.

Motion carried by unanimous voice vote.

Mr. Andrew V. Paladino will serve as Vice President for a one (1) year term.

Motion by Bingaman and seconded by Aikey to approve proposed meeting dates, time and place. (a copy of the proposed dates to be attached and made a part of the official minutes)

Motion carried by unanimous voice vote.

Dr. Jankowski called to the Boards' attention that the November 10, 2025, meeting would be the last regularly scheduled meeting that this Board would be fully functioning as is. He explained that 2025 is an election year and that terms for four members of the current Board expire on December 1, 2025, which is prior to the meeting scheduled for December. Dr. Jankowski noted that his office is able to provide assistance to those running for election in 2025, from a procedural standpoint.

Motion by Bingaman and seconded by Paladino to approve proposed rules for conducting meetings. (a copy of the rules to be attached and made a part of the official minutes)

Motion carried by unanimous voice vote.

Mr. Hess requested that members email him with any special requests for committee assignments, prior to the January Board meeting.

Motion by Paladino and seconded by Naugle to designate The Daily Item as a newspaper of general circulation to be utilized by the District as defined in Section 106 of the Pennsylvania School Code.

On roll call vote: 7 yes, 1 no (Teats), 1 absent

Discussion was held regarding the appointment of a PSBA Liaison. Mr. Bingman, who is currently serving in the position, explained that he would prefer not to be reappointed due to a busy work schedule. He indicated that Mr. Aikey had expressed an interest in the position.

Motion by Bingaman and seconded by Watto to appoint Mr. Aikey as PSBA Liaison to the Pennsylvania School Boards Association to serve through December 2025.

Motion carried by unanimous voice vote.

Motion by Paladino and seconded by Watto to consider approving David W. Hess, President; Christopher A. Aikey, Secretary; and, Kenneth B. Teats, Jr., Treasurer, as the district's approved bank signers for Fulton Bank for the following accounts: General Fund checking; Debt Service Fund checking; Capital Reserve Fund checking; Athletic Fund checking; Athletic Facility Donations checking; Payroll checking; Food & Nutrition checking; Capital Projects checking, and General Fund Money Market.

On roll call vote: 8 yes, 0 no, 1 absent

Adjournment:

With no further business before the Board, the meeting was adjourned at 7:25 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Claudia A. Beaver Recording Secretary

cab/romin2024-12-04